Toro y Moi Unveils New Mixtape “Samantha”

Chaz Bundick, more popularly known as Toro y Moi, is a sonic powerhouse artist/producer hybrid. If you’re unfamiliar, Toro evokes feel good music through the use of hypnotizing synths, crispy drum-rolls and soothing echo-filled vocal work. With his April release, What For?Toro has been touring the country all year with notable stops at LA’s FYF Fest this past weekend as well as Chicago’s Lollapalooza from late July.

On Instagram this morning, Chaz debuted at his latest mix, Samantha, which you can now grab for free here. The 20-track project showcases eclectic-as-ever production and a handful of guests ranging from the Bay’s Kool A.D. and Atlanta’s Rome Fortune to Georgia’s Washed Out and fellow music blacksmith Nosaj Thing. Each of the “New Age” tracks are dated from early 2012 to late July 2015 amongst a few previously released cuts including “2Late” and “Pitch Black.” Check out the tracklist and album art below, and keep up with Toro y Moi on his website


Tracklist: Toro y Moi – “Samantha”

  1. Power of Now
  2. 2Late ft. Kool A.D. and Safe
  3. Driving Day
  4. Good Song
  5. Pitch Black ft. Rome Fortune
  6. US 2
  7. That Night ft. Kool A.D. and Safe
  8. Stoned at the MOMA
  9. Room for 1zone
  10. Want ft. Washed Out
  11. ambient rainbow
  12. Benjiminz ft. Rome Fortune
  13. Boo Boo Mobile
  14. bytheneck
  15. Real Love ft. Kool A.D.
  16. Enough of You ft. Nosaj Thing
  17. The Usual
  18. Prayer Hands
  19. Holy Nights ft. Shore
  20. welp, tour’s over

[Image from Interview Magazine]


Lil B & Chance the Rapper Drop Freestyle Mixtape (Stream + Free DL)

A match-made in heaven, the unorthodox tag-team unveiled their Free (The Based Freestyles) mixtape earlier today. The two have been taking the Internet by storm lately, with Lil B iconic as always and Chance announcing both his status as an expectant father and his upcoming Family Matters tour alongside fellow SaveMoney member Towkio, Cha Cha enthusiast D.R.A.M., and acclaimed Atlanta-based producer Metro Boomin. A few weeks ago, the two were found pictured together:

View this post on Instagram

Made an album with Lil B

A post shared by Chance The Rapper (@chancetherapper) on

After confirmation of the rumors and some patience, we finally have the opportunity to hear what the Based God and Chance have whipped up. As the title suggests, the six-track compilation is built upon freestyles with words of wisdom sprinkled in-between their verses. The project samples a little bit of everything, from laid-back piano melodies to speaker-shatterers, and showcases the adept artists weaving in-and-out of their comfort zones.

Stream and download the project for free below.

Chance the Rapper: Twitter

Lil B: Twitter