Travis Thompson Keeps The Momentum Going With “Die Today”

W&V favorite Travis Thompson has been on a hot streak all year—from the Jake One-produced track “American Youth” to “Pipe Down” with Michael Christmas, the Seattle emcee shows no signs of slowing any time soon. With a smooth foundation from close collaborators Nima Skeemz and Tyler Dopps, Travis reflects on his accomplishments and where he’s headed on his latest offering titled “Die Today.” His effortless flow paired with vivid storytelling make for a repeat-worthy trip down memory lane for new and familiar faces alike.

Stream “Die Today” below and revisit our conversation with Travis.

Travis will also be headlining The Crocodile next month on August 4. Peep the flyer below and grab tickets here.


Jay Prince Goes All In With ‘Late Summers’ Mixtape

Jay Prince is back with his latest bundle of golden tracks. From start to finish, the London artist delivers a whipping energy with his bouncy raps over production from the likes of J.LBSJonah Christian, and Axlfolie. His blend of positivity and flexes culminate in a thoroughly refreshing sound for listeners to enjoy. Also along for the ride are AminéShakka, and Fabienne, tying the project together with stacked list of features. Building upon the success of his Smile Good mixtape and previous singles like “When I Die,” Jay is setting himself up for a true banner year.

In support of the project, Jay will also be hitting the States next month for a run of headlining dates. Peep the shows below and grab tickets here.


Sylvan LaCue Announces New Album, Unveils “Grateful” Video

The multitalented Sylvan LaCue has been steady plotting all year on his next release. Alongside touring with the likes of SabaElujay, and Khary, the blossoming artist has built momentum with golden tracks like “Best Me” and “Televised” with Rayana Jay, segueing nicely into another soulful trip, “Grateful.”

Sylvan returns to our pages today with the visuals for his latest offering. Reuniting with director Jonathan Benavente, the video follows Sylvan on the rooftops as he recalls everything he has to be thankful for. Topped off with a clip from “Crosswinds,” the track stands as a reminder for listeners to appreciate the little things in life when times get tough.

Sylvan has also announced that his forthcoming album will be titled Apologies In Advance. This will be Sylvan’s second project under his current moniker, building upon last year’s Far From Familiar.

Stay tuned for more info on the album and check out the video for “Grateful” below.

Paper Boy Fabe Taps Brent Faiyaz For “Language”

When it comes to relationships, it’s not always easy to see eye to eye. Titled “Language,” Paper Boy Fabe‘s latest outing explores this idea of discontinuity with another. The Los Angeles artist recruits Brent Faiyaz, who’s been building his own fanbase with his sultry trio Sonder, to guide listeners on the emotional rollercoaster of love. Brent’s heavenly vocals sit seamlessly with Paperboy’s steady rhythms to carry the track forward, culminating in a smooth collab to vibe out to.

Stream “Language” below.

Matt McGhee Flexes His Talent On ‘Under New Management’ Mixtape

I’ve been a huge fan of Matt McGhee ever since I stumbled upon “CARNIVAL” on SoundCloud a few months ago. The Maryland artist has since held us down with singles like “Shea Butter Mami” and “Shining,” leading into the release of his latest project titled Under New Management. Matt flexes his skills with the pen over a wide range of production, paired nicely with features from King RoserMell, and Autumn Bella. As the title suggests, the mixtape serves as a testament to leaving his previous management team behind and focusing on the independent route moving forward.

Matt teamed up with Artistic Manifesto to premiere a special version of Under New Management with audio clips from The Office in-between tracks. Matt also sheds light on his forthcoming album, Somehow I Manage, slated for release next week on June 2.

Peep both versions below and stay tuned for more from Matt and his GRAMFAM crew.

Stream 1-O.A.K.’s New Album ‘Riding In Cars With Girls’

Adding to his repertoire of top-notch work with Kamaiyah and Rayana Jay, Oakland’s multitalented artist 1-O.A.K. is back with his latest album, Riding In Cars With Girls. The 15-track outing explores his experiences with a past relationship, painting the scene with a balance of upbeat slaps like “Lit” featuring IAMSU! and slower jams “Success.” Topped off with talent from fellow Bay Area icons Drew BangaDUCKWRTH, and Kuya Beats, 1-O.A.K. crafts one of the smoothest projects to drop this year as he reminisces and reflects on single life moving forward.

Stream Riding In Cars With Girls after the jump.

Daz Rinko Previews New Project With “SOS” Featuring theMIND

With a new EP slated for release this summer, Memphis’ own Daz Rinko is holding us down with the first single from the project titled “SOS.” The Sprill-produced track opens with cascading plucks approaching from the distance, gaining momentum with Daz’s passionate verses and theMIND‘s soothing hook. Inspired by the recent election of Donald Trump and rising number of homicides in Memphis last year, his latest offering washes over the listener in waves, highlighting each of their talents in a beautifully-executed track.

Peep “SOS” below.

kyo-ken Taps MistaDC & Elujay For “Most Beautiful Ride”

With the likes of Dave B. and Travis Thompson leading the pack, Seattle continues to deliver a constant stream of talent in the music industry. One of the city’s blossoming producers kyo-ken recently joined forces with fellow Seattleite MistaDC and W&V veteran Elujay for a wavy tune titled “Most Beautiful Ride.” kyo-ken laces the late-night soundtrack with a groovy foundation for MistaDC’s infectious falsetto and Elu’s saucy verse, culminating in a bouncy track fit for any playlist.

Stream “Most Beautiful Ride” below.

jaro’s “4 in da mornin” Is A Calming Journey

In addition to his Weekdays series with Ben Niespodziany (AKA neonpajamas), W&V favorite jaro has been keeping a steady release schedule of solo cuts. The Chicago producer dives into the realm of lo-fi with his new track titled “4 in da mornin,” featuring a cascading piano riff and a pulsating rhythm. Topped off with a vocal sample from Kanye West‘s “Black Skinhead,” jaro elegantly crafts a warm and slow-burning tune.

Stream “4 in da mornin” below.

Stream Jazze Belle’s Debut EP ‘Go To Bed Standing Up’

Building upon the success of tracks like “Dark Arts” and “SCW,” Jazze Belle returns with their debut EP, Go To Bed Standing Up. The four-track offering is a dreamy adventure from the duo comprised of producer Jett and singer-songwriter Taylor Simone, indulging listeners in a bundle of bliss. Led by Jett’s twinkling melodies and Taylor’s similarly divine voice, the project explores the process of self-realization and the inevitable challenges we face along the way. Keep a close eye on Jazze Belle as they continue to dazzle with each release.

Stream Go To Bed Standing Up below.